Dr. ir. Dr. h. c. (RTU), Universitätsprofessor

Rik W. De Doncker

Director of E.ON Energy Research Center and Institute for Power Generation and Storage Systems (PGS)

Rik W. De Doncker
E.ON Energy Research Center


Building: 4120

Room: 00.03

Mathieustraße 10

52074 Aachen


Phone: +49 241 80 49660
Fax Fax: +49 241 80 49669

Occupational Career


Curriculum Vitae

1981 Master of Science in Electro-Mechanical Power Engineering , at the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
1986 Doctor in Electrical Power Engineering with the highest distinction at the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium; Subject: "Synthesis and digital implementation of adaptive field oriented controllers for induction machines with airgap flux control and deep bar compensation"
1987 Fulbright-Hayes Award und N.A.T.O. Research Stipendium at the University of Wisconsin, Madison, USA
1987 Visiting Associate Professor at the University of Wisconsin, Madison, USA
1988 General Electric (GE) Fellowship at the Interuniversity Microelectronic Center (IMEC), Leuven, Belgium
1989 – 1994 Senior Scientist at the GE Corporate Research and Development Center, Schenectady/New York, USA
1991 – 1993 Adjunct Professor at the Rensselaer Polytechnical Institute (RPI), Troy/New York, USA, Department of Electric Power Engineering
1994 – 1996 Vice President at Silicon Power Corporation (SPCO), Malvern/Pennsylvania, USA
1996 Professor and head of the Institute for Power Electronics and Electrical Drives (ISEA) at Aachen University of Technology
1999 Senior Member IEEE
2001 Fellow IEEE
2002 IEEE IAS 2002 Outstanding Achievement Award
2002 - 2004 IEEE IAS IPCSD Department Chair
2004 IEEE German Chapter Award
2004 - 2006 President IEEE PELS (Power Electronics Society)
2006 Appointed Director of the E.ON Energy Research Center (E.ON ERC), RWTH Aachen University
2007 E.ON Research Award
2009 Nari Hingorani Custom Power Award of the IEEE PES (Power and Energy Society)
2010 Honorary Doctor Degree "Doktor Honoris Causa" at TU Riga
2013 IEEE William E. Newell Power Electronics Award